Clubs and Honor Societies

Anime Club

We meet after school on Thursdays 2:10-3:10

If you like anime or manga then come on down to the library after school. We watch anime, read manga, play games, and just generally have fun. We do club outings and school activities such as homecoming and spring fair! So come on down anytime, we’ll be glad to have you!

Annora Bailey | Media Specialist | Annora_Bailey@hcpss.org

Barbershop

Meets on Mondays in Room 167 at 2:15.

Kevin Crouch | Related Arts Team Leader, Chorus | Kevin_Crouch@hcpss.org

Beautyshop

Meets on Tuesdays at 2:15 in room 167

Kevin Crouch | Related Arts Team Leader, Chorus | Kevin_Crouch@hcpss.org

Best Buddies

Meets on the second Wednesday of the month in Room 131, 2:15 - 3:15

Kelly Broyles | PE Team Leader, Health, Varsity Coach | Kelly_Broyles@hcpss.org
Patricia Crowe | Bookkeeper | patricia_crowe@hcpss.org
Nicola Kosecki | Teacher | nicola_kosecki@hcpss.org

Book Club

Meets during WildeCat Time on the last Wednesday of each month (that school is in session) in the Media Center

Read for enjoyment along with others! Book choices are made by the group and copies are made available through the WLHS Media Center.

Kathleen Palmateer | Media Specialist | Kathleen_Palmateer@hcpss.org

BSAP Students of Success

BSAP Students of Success is a student leadership group provided by the Black Student Achievement Program of Wilde Lake High School. This leadership group will serve as a positive outlet for African American students. This group is designed  to help students reduce stress while enabling them to develop leadership skills so they will be able to better serve as a role model at Wilde Lake High School and in the community. This group will also serve as an opportunity for student participants to generate more awareness about African American history and culture. Group participants will develop better critical thinking skills while establishing relationships with other students that are part of the group. See Mr. Nicks for more details about meetings.

Meetings take place each Wednesday after school from 2:20PM to 3:20PM.

Marcus Nicks | Black Student Achievement Program | marcus_nicks@hcpss.org

Chemistry Club

Meets on the first and third Thursdays of the month in Room 231, starts at 2:15

Tushar Sura | Teacher | Tushar_Sura@hcpss.org

Christian Club

Meets on Thursdays at 2:20 in room 336

Gary Beachum | Teacher | Gary_Beachum@hcpss.org

Class of 2019

Meets in room 310

Maria Romano-Sweitzer | Teacher | Maria_Romano-Sweitzer@hcpss.org
Susan Pennington | Teacher | Susan_Pennington@hcpss.org
Jeannette Dixon | GT Resource Teacher | Jeannette_Dixon@hcpss.org

Class of 2020

Meets in room 218

Melissa Bell | Teacher | Melissa_Bell@hcpss.org
DeAnna Amalemba | Teacher | Deanna_Amalemba@hcpss.org

Class of 2021

Meets in room 330

Megan Shea | Teacher | Megan_Shea@hcpss.org
Jennifer Wilson | Teacher, Reading Specialist | jennifer_wilson@hcpss.org

Class of 2022

Please contact sponsors for more details

Kelly Broyles | PE Team Leader, Health, Varsity Coach | Kelly_Broyles@hcpss.org
Katherine Volpe | Teacher, 9th Grade Instructional Team Leader | Katherine_Volpe@hcpss.org

Dance

Meets in room 171, see advisor for more details

Christine Estabrook | Teacher, Dance | Christine_Estabrook@hcpss.org

Drama Club & Stage Production

Meet in Mini Theater, meeting times TBD.

Tracy Adler | Teacher, Drama | Tracy_Adler@hcpss.org

Educators Rising

Meetings in room 139

To promote the teaching profession and to provide a group for students who are interested in the field of education. There are no restrictions or requirements for joining.

Kathryn Delaney | Teacher | Kathryn_Delaney@hcpss.org

Environmental Club

Meets on Wednesdays (2:15-2:45) in room 332 and Friday's (2:15-3:00) in room 234

Plan activities that make WLHS a more environmentally friendly place by recycling of school materials on Friday and Howard County Envirothon in the spring. Just stop by! We are happy to have anyone who is intersted.

Jamie Proctor | Teacher, Instructional Team Leader | Jamie_Proctor@hcpss.org
Melissa Bell | Teacher | Melissa_Bell@hcpss.org

Equestrian Club

Every Wildecat time in room 327

Elizabeth Congedo | Teacher | Elizabeth_Congedo@hcpss.org

Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)

Meets in room 334, see advisor for more details

Erin Carpenter | Teacher | Erin_Carpenter@hcpss.org

Food on the 15th

The WLHS branch of Food on the 15th, a local non-profit that collects food for senior citizens. Our goal is to give back to the local community through food collections and spreading awareness. Any students interested in giving back to the community through Food on the 15th are welcome to join.

Meetings First Tuesdays each month after school in the front office

Rick Wilson | Principal: J-Mb | Rick_Wilson@hcpss.org

French Club

A club where students who are either currently attending French classes or are interested in France and French culture can meet to learn and explore a variety of different French aspects (food, music, language, etc.) with others with like-minded interests. Club meetings are held every first Monday of the month in room 301.              

Yimei Wu | Teacher | Yimei_Wu@hcpss.org

Future Educators of America (FEA)

Meets in Room 328

To promote the teaching profession and to provide a group for students who are interested in the field of education. There are no restrictions or requirements for joining.

Jessica White | Teacher, Instructional Team Leader | Jessica_White@hcpss.org

Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA)

Meets in Media - Wednesdays from 2:15 - 3:00

A setting in which LGBTQ youth and their allies have a place to socialize without being judged as well as talk about what is happening in the news in regards to the LGBTQ community. Enjoy watching movies, reading articles, talking about recent happenings, and socializing. Just show up to meetings, no requirements. Come when you can!

Kathleen Palmateer | Media Specialist | Kathleen_Palmateer@hcpss.org

German Club

To share German culture and history like making Gingerbread Houses. The club meets after school for specific celebrations. Listen to announcements, come to any meetings, all students are welcome regardless if they are in a German class or not.

Melissa Rhoton | Teacher, World Languages Instructional Team Leader | Melissa_Rhoton@hcpss.org

Girls in STEM

First Friday of every month after school in room 331 (all year)

Promoting the interest and participation of girls in STEM fields through activities, field trips, guest speakers, and events like guest speakers, demonstrations/experiments, discussions, local STEM events, field trips. Any student is welcome to come to any meeting! You don't have to be a girl to participate--you just have to support the full inclusion of girls in STEM!

Brittany Franckowiak | Teacher | Brittany_Franckowiak@hcpss.org

Green and Gold

Meets in room 218, WCT, and Wednesday after school, other scheduled times for activities

To provide mentors to incoming freshman and help them successfully transition to WLHS. To build relationship and connections as we welcome new students into our building. Application process for juniors and seniors in early May, most are recommended by teachers but all students are welcome to apply. ALL MENTORS must attend training in June and camp in August. Freshman are picked by MS counselors and teachers.

Katherine Volpe | Teacher, 9th Grade Instructional Team Leader | Katherine_Volpe@hcpss.org
Lindsey Startt | Teacher | Lindsey_Startt@hcpss.org

Hispanic Voices Club / Club de Voces Hispanas

Meets 2 times a Month
2nd and 4th Wednesdays after school in room #235 or #223 (changes will be announced)

Hispanic Voices is a club for WLHS students of Hispanic/Latino descent. Our goal is to provide an environment that fosters community building among Hispanic students and to reinforce a positive ethnic identity. We will promote academic achievement and higher education through fun and informative activities throughout the year. Come join us!

Marilyn Barker | Hispanic Achievement Liaison | Marilyn_Barker@hcpss.org

International Club

Meets every other Friday in Room 217 at 2:15.

Learn about other cultures and coordinate the school-wide event, Culture Day, that happens in the spring.  We have presentations about different cultures and multicultural activities and planning for Culture Day. Come to a meeting, anyone can join that is a WLHS student!

Karen Bui-Bates | Teacher, ELL | karen_bui-bates@hcpss.org
Colleen Miller | Teacher, ELL | Colleen_Miller@hcpss.org

International Thespians

Meets in Mini Theater on the last 2 Mondays of each month

Tracy Adler | Teacher, Drama | Tracy_Adler@hcpss.org

It's Academic

Meets on Wednesdays in Room 231.

Chris Lienhard | Teacher | Chris_Lienhard@hcpss.org
Tushar Sura | Teacher | Tushar_Sura@hcpss.org

Italian Club

The mission of the Italian Club is to promote language and cultural understanding, to increase community awareness, to enhance social interactions, and to provide a comfortable, welcoming environment to every student. In addition, the Italian Club aims to create a social network among people of a common interest.

Meets in room 318

Anna Martucci-Morris | Teacher | Anna_MartucciMorris@hcpss.org

Knit & Crochet Club

Meets on Mondays from 2:15-3pm in the back of the Media Center

Learn to knit and/or crochet. Come de-stress with a project of your own. No materials necessary. All are welcome!

Kathleen Palmateer | Media Specialist | Kathleen_Palmateer@hcpss.org

Math Team

Meets on Wednesdays in Room 317 from 2:15-3:00.

Math Team is a member of Howard County Math League (HCML) and participates in eight HCML competitions each year.

Michelle Tarr | Teacher | Michelle_Tarr@hcpss.org

MESA - Math, Engineering, Science Achievement

STEM Competition, meets in room 136

Sean Crumley | Teacher | Sean_Crumley@hcpss.org

Music - Orchestra

Meets in room 169, see advisor for more details.

Enkelejda Spiro | Teacher | Enkelejda_Spiro@hcpss.org

Music Vocals/Chorale

Meets on Thursdays from 2:20-3:20 in room 167.

Kevin Crouch | Related Arts Team Leader, Chorus | Kevin_Crouch@hcpss.org

Physics Club

Meets in room 136, see advisor for more details.

Katherine Linton | Teacher | Katherine_Linton@hcpss.org

Poms

Information located in room 316; see advisor for more details.

The Poms team practices on Mondays from 2:30 - 4:30 and Thursdays from 3:30 - 5:00 in the dance studio. In addition to regular rehearsals, the team performs on Fridays during Basketball season, as well as during Homecoming, the Pep Rallies, and at least 1 competition. Auditions are held twice annually at the beginning and end of each school year.

Jessica Stoltz | Teacher | Jessica_Stoltz@hcpss.org

Quill and Scroll

Meets in room 211, see advisor for more details.

Ben Townsend | Teacher, School Newspaper | Ben_Townsend@hcpss.org

Red Cross Club

Meets Wednesdays throughout the year (mostly 1-2 times a month)

Complete service events and provide opportunities to increase participation in community service while working with the American Red Cross.Community Service hours available!

Leslie Garbutt | Teacher | Leslie_Garbutt@hcpss.org | Website

Robotics

Since 2012, The Robotics Club (“Wilde Bunch,” Team # FRC 4137) has actively participated in an international HS robotics competition that is organized by FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC). Students and mentors work intensely during a six-week period (Season: Jan-Feb) to build game-playing robots. The team with a given standard set of parts and a budget is encouraged to buy more parts or make specialized parts for this competitive-robot. Each team member becomes a valuable team-member by bringing in their own sets of skills. Thus, besides on-field competition, students have an opportunity to show case their entrepreneurship, creativity, engineering and industrial design, computer programming, organization skills, safety and exemplifying the core values of the program. The goal of the club is to inspire students to be science and technology leaders.  

In FALL: Meets on THURS @ 2:15 PM - 3:15 PM in Room 231

In WINTER (6-weeks):  Meets on MON-FRI @ 2:15 PM - 4:00 PM

                   SAT-SUN @ 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM in Room 138/142

Tushar Sura | Teacher | Tushar_Sura@hcpss.org
Brian Rau | Athletic Coordinator | brian_rau@hcpss.org

Science National Honor Society

Meets in room 136. See advisor for details.

Katherine Linton | Teacher | Katherine_Linton@hcpss.org

Sign Language Club

Meets in room 308, see advisor for more details

Linda Shin | Teacher | Linda_Shin@hcpss.org

Speech and Debate Team

Debate meets Mondays 2:15-3:15, room 302

Speech meets Tuesdays 2:15-3:15, room 302

Kelli Midgley | Teacher | Kelli_Midgley@hcpss.org

Student Government Association (SGA)

The club meets Wednesday's after school in Room 228.

Students may apply to join when applications are released - most often in the spring for the following school year and sometimes in the fall for the current school year. Students who submit an application will be interviewed by the current SGA executive board. Student members are expected to pay dues at the beginning of the school year. We coordinate and organize school-wide events to encourage and promote school community and spirit like Planning Spirit Weeks, Pep Rallys, School Fundraising, and Dances.

John Wallace | Teacher | John_Wallace@hcpss.org

Tapestry - WLHS's Literary Magazine

Meets on Wednesdays in Room 238.

Kaitlyn Curtis | Teacher | Kaitlyn_Curtis@hcpss.org

The Paw Print - School Newspaper

Meets in room 211, see advisor for more details.

Ben Townsend | Teacher, School Newspaper | Ben_Townsend@hcpss.org

Ultimate Frisbee

Meets on Saturday afternoons, WLHS practice fields, fall and spring. See Mr. Mandl for more details.

We play tournament ultimate frisbee against other self-organized teams around the county. There are no restrictions, all ages and genders are welcome.

Paul Mandl | Teacher | Paul_Mandl@hcpss.org

Walking Club

Meets on Fridays from 2:15 to 3pm.

Anyone who wishes to walk, we meet in the Media Center and will then go together to where we are walking. Wear comfortable walking shoes and appropriate clothing-we will walk outside as much as possible! All are welcome!

Kathleen Palmateer | Media Specialist | Kathleen_Palmateer@hcpss.org
Kelly Broyles | Varsity Girls Assistant Coach | kelly_broyles@hcpss.org

Wildecat Flags

Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:15-4:00, only through football season. Recruiting will begin in May.

We are the Color guard for marching band. We are involved in rehearsal and participation in football game halftime shows; Band camp over the summer. You must attend band camp in august to participate, so please sign up before the end of the school year! No requirements; see Ms. Bell in room 332

Melissa Bell | Teacher | Melissa_Bell@hcpss.org

Yearbook

Meets in room 211, see advisor for more details.

Hilary Henderson | Teacher, Yearbook | hilary_henderson@hcpss.org